I Love Myself

Over the past couple of weeks, I have come across the term “self-love” over and over again.  Now get your mind out of the gutter! I’m talking about truly loving yourself, being happy with who you are, warts and all.

Since I kept on hearing or reading about self-love, I wondered if the Universe was trying to tell me something. I do love myself. I think. Do I need to love myself more?

I spoke with Coach Jeannette Maw who runs one of my favorite blogs about this topic. She believes that if you don’t love yourself, you may not feel worthy of achieving your goals. And if you don’t feel worthy, then it stands to say that you will not achieve your goals.

Loving yourself means different things to different people. For me, it means to take good care of myself. I do that by working out, carving alone time, spending time with friends, reading magazines, writing in my journal or listening to my new favorite cd. There are many other self-love techniques out there. SelfHelpGoddess has quite a few tips, including one she learned at a Jack Canfield conference. Basically, you look at yourself in a mirror (and look into your own eyes) and tell yourself all the reasons why you love yourself. If  you have never done this before, it can be a bit weird. Usually when we look at ourselves, we may think “My nose is too big” or “I have to get my fat ass to the gym.”  But, during this exercise you would say only nice and wonderful things to yourself. Leave those other comments for later. (Just joking).

Another technique I learned from Jeannette is the “I’m Worthy” technique. All you need is a sheet of paper and a pen. You write “I”m worthy” and you fill in the blank. You can write “I am worthy enough to weigh 118 pounds” or “I am worthy enough to own my house/be in a relationship/drive a brand new car.” You want it, you write it.

I have been enjoying incorporating these activities in my life. How will you love yourself today?

2 thoughts on “I Love Myself

  1. Hi Judie! Lovely to be mentioned in your blog:) Self-love is *such* an important topic, because it really can make all the difference between actually achieving your dreams versus just wishing they’ll come true someday.

    The exercise you mentioned above that I learned last year from Jack Canfield at one of his conferences really changed my life. It takes a bit of practice at the beginning, especially if you tend to be hard on yourself (which I am!), but it definitely gets easier with time and is sooo worth it!

    Big hugs!
    Mary

  2. Hi Mary! Thank you so much for posting on my blog. Even though I have not practiced the Mirror Technique before, I have found it quite simple and enjoyable. I am looking forward to even more transformation 🙂 Have a Lovable Day!

Leave a Reply

