I’m Back!

I returned from Portland, Oregon late Thursday night. I believe I am finally recovered. The trip was fun. My daughters had a blast playing with their cousins. I miraculously survived two nights of camping. This morning we all woke up around 7 am which clearly shows the end of jetlag, although I am still having a hard time falling asleep.

On the plane ride home, I decided to reread my mantra book, Healing Mantras by Thomas Ashley-Farrand. I had completed my second 40 day mantra practice the day we left for our trip and I found that I actually missed reciting mantras.  I was excited to pick my next one.

As I read the book, I was drawn to quite a few mantras. It was hard for me to pick one! I ended up picking the Saraswati mantra:

Saraswati: Om Eim Saraswatyei Swaha

Rough Translation: ‘Om and salutations to that feminine energy which informs all artistic and scholastic endeavor, and for which Eim (pronounced I’m) is the seed.’

Saraswati holds a musical instrument, the vina, in one hand and a rosary in another hand. She spans the world of mundane knowledge and spiritual understanding. Those pursuing any artistic or educational endeavor whatsoever will gain greatly from the practice of this mantra.

Source: http://www.sanskritmantra.com/simple.htm

I felt drawn to that mantra since I am a writer who is very interested in all things spiritual, I thought it would be a good one for me to chant. The thing is, I have not felt motivated enough to sit down and do a complete mala.I have a ton of excuses, jet lag, we now have 3 family members visiting, etc..  Maybe I am just lazy? Instead of feeling guilty or beating myself up, I have been reminding myself to be gentle. I recite the mantra when I remember. It makes me feel good. It just seems to flow. We can all use more ease and happiness in our lives, can’t we?

Leave a Reply

