Sleep More = Lose More Weight

The March 2009 issue of Glamour Magazine had an interesting article.  According to the article, two medical and sleep experts created a plan for seven Glamour readers.  They all had to do one “easy” thing: get at least seven and a half hours of sleep every night.  I put easy in quotes because based on my own personal experience as a mom to two young kids, getting that much sleep every night is no easy task.

The really interesting thing is that Glamour asked the women not to change anything else in their life.  They couldn’t exercise any more or any less, go on any wild diets, etc.  All they had to do was sleep more.

At the end of the 10 week program, practically all seven of the participants lost weight.  One woman lost 6 pounds, one lost 10 pounds, one even lost fifteen freaking pounds!  All due to sleeping at least seven and a half hours a night! One woman admitted she was unable to get the required amount of sleep every night due to her job schedule.  However, she still lost inches off her waist, bust and hips!

Sounds pretty amazing to me.  Sign me up!

4 thoughts on “Sleep More = Lose More Weight

  1. getting that much sleep around here is tough too! When would I catch up on your blog if I slept that long? It is easier now that my daughter is older at least. I can actually clean now while she’s awake which helps :). When she was younger, that would have been pretty pointless!

  2. Yes, I agree, getting that much sleep can be tricky but I also thought it was a great, healthy way to shed weight. I wonder if it really works??

  3. I’d certainly love to try it one of these years! I’m sure it does work because I notice when I’m more tired, I’m also more hungry. I think I just plain eat less when I’m more awake and energized.

Leave a Reply

