Fighting The Masses At The Gym

I went to the gym this morning.  I have to be honest and admit I was not in the mood to go. I just didn’t feel like it but I forced myself.  As expected, the parking lot was packed. I knew that the gym would be filled with people who made the Resolution to lose weight.  It happens ever year.  And every year, it passes after a few weeks.

After I found a parking spot, I ran into the gym.  I was thrilled to find an empty Treadmill. I power walked on an incline for about 25 minutes.  I could have stayed on a bit longer, but I grew apprehensive when I saw the long line of people waiting to get into the “Body Pump” class.

When I got into the class, I almost got into a fight with another women.  Seriously.  I went to get “my” spot.  Yes, I am one of those people who like to work out in the same spot in the room.  However, another woman also had her eye on the same spot.  I can’t even tell you who got there “first” but I decided to be nice and let her have the spot, but I was also pissed at myself for relenting.  Grrrrr.

One of my favorite things about Body Pump is the music.  You lift weights and work out every muscle group to fast, current music.  I love it.  The bad thing is that I have not taken this class in a long time (since I have been obsessed with The Bar Method classes) so I could tell I lost a lot of strength.  I still feel strong but I had a hard time keeping up with all the reps.  However, I didn’t feel that bad.   For the first time ever, there were 2 men in my class.  One man was standing near me.  He was having a really hard time keeping up with the class as well.  It made me feel better 🙂  Sad, but true.

One thought on “Fighting The Masses At The Gym

  1. Pingback: Who Let the Resolution Makers In? « ReadingRisa

Leave a Reply

