Perception Vs. Reality

It can be very frightening when your view of yourself is distorted.  It can happen to the best of us and it doesn’t have to focus on weight.  Some may think they are not creative and yet everyone around them think they eat and breathe creativity.  It’s known that many anorexics think they are fat or see themselves as overweight. 

The other night, I got together with a friend of mine.  At one point, the conversation shifted to our bodies and our self image.  I revealed that at times I feel like I am too bulky.  Her eyes popped wide open.  She was stunned!  She said I am a “twig”.  While I would not go as far as that, it made me wonder.  Do my eyes see what others see?

Leave a Reply

