When Is Good Enough…..Enough?

I have been thinking about this topic a lot.  As you can probably tell, I’m pretty obsessed with fitness.  I truly enjoy working out, well, most of the time.  However, sometimes I do wonder about my motivation.  I’ve been coveting that “long, lean dancer’s body” my entire life.  The fact is, I’m 5′ 2″ and Latina. I have thighs and a booty.  I have curves (although with a flat chest).  Is that dancer’s body an attainable goal for me?  

I recently found a forum that has been talking about Tracy Anderson and her dvds.  Pretty much everyone posting wants that ever elusive dancer’s body.    Many of the posters say they need to lose weight and tone up.  Then there’s me.  I’m fine with my weight (yes, I would not mind shedding a pound or 3 or 4) but I’m ok with my weight pretty much.  I consider myself fairly fit and toned.  But, here I am, still chasing that body type instead of 1) accepting my body and 2) appreciating it.

On that forum, someone mentioned Fluidity, a workout that seems to be very similar to The Bar Method, Tracy Anderson, etc.. Of course I immediately went to the site, thinking, wait, maybe THIS will be the ticket, maybe THIS will be my miracle.  But as I read more about it, I quickly realized that this workout is pretty much the same to what I’m already doing.

I also checked out the before and after photos.  I don’t mean to brag but, hey, I can be an “after” shot.  

I’m on the road to recovery, I think.  I hope this doesn’t sound complacent.  I mean that I am going to try my very best to be thankful for this body, booty and all.  Of course I am going to continue exercising and trying new classes.  But I will also acknowledge, appreciate and accept that we are all different yet beautiful.  God, that does sound really corny!  Sorry!

One thought on “When Is Good Enough…..Enough?

  1. Pingback: Fit Links at The Fit Shack | The Fit Shack

Leave a Reply

