There’s a Turkey In My Oven

I never thought I’d say that!  Ha!  

I had a rough night last night.  My little one was coughing all night long.  Neither of us got any sleep.  At least she slept late, although my 5 year old was up at the crack of dawn as usual.

I accidently purchased a HUGE turkey.  19 pounds.  For 4 adults and 2 kids.  I told my husband we’ll be eating turkey for the next week. Or two.  Who knows.  All I know is that it’s in the oven.  I found a recipe online that seemed nice and easy.  I wasn’t planning on roasting it with the stuffing inside but my husband thought it would taste better.  I used Stove Top stuffing but I added dried cranberries and apples.  

Yesterday I made the sweet potatoes and green been casserole.  I also have dinner rolls.  And some veggies to make later.  And roasted potatoes.  Store bought cranberry sauce.  My dad is bringing over an apple pie and pumpkin pie. My brother is bringing wine.  

As I prepared the turkey, I explained to my 5 year old that my Mom was an amazing cook.  I still salivate as I think of her cooking.  I never, ever helped her in the kitchen though.  I’m sorry about that Mom.  As I gathered all the herbs and seasonings, I evoked her Spirit.  I pray she is with us and can somehow make sure my meal comes out well 🙂

All is good.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

One thought on “There’s a Turkey In My Oven

  1. Pingback: What A Difference A Year Makes « Judiesjuice’s Blog

Leave a Reply

