To Video Or Not To Video

If you have been reading my blog, then you are probably aware that I prefer to work out in a group setting.  I love being around other people while exercising.  But, it can’t simply be “working out”.  I need an exercise class.  I’m not really sure why that is.  I do enjoy the music (usually) and the motivation.  

However, I still cannot help myself from checking out videos.  I also post on a forum called Video Fitness and love reading people’s posts and reviews about the latest video.  

There has been a lot of buzz on the forum about a trainer called Tracy Anderson.  She is Madonna’s and Gwyneth’s trainer.  She does make some claims, such as, women should never, ever lift more than 3 pounds or else they will become big and bulky.  Many people on the Video Fitness forum thought she was insane for making such a statement.  There are other “issues” with her but I don’t want to get into it.

I decided to purchase one her dvds, her Mat WorkOut.  Yesterday I had to attend a meeting at my older daughter’s school and was not able to get to the gym in time to take a class. It provided me with the perfect opportunity to try this dvd.

I have to say, I enjoyed it!!  The music is pretty good.  Tracy does not do much cueing and so at times, I did get lost.  There is definite room for improvement but at the same time, I had fun.  It’s nice to have a workout option that does not require the gym.

Oh, I did not listen to her advice about 3 pound weights.  The smallest weights I own are 5 pounds so I used those.  But I can see what she means- it was really hard keeping up!

2 thoughts on “To Video Or Not To Video

  1. I like working out in group settings as well. It’s so much more motivating for me. 1) Because it’s fun being around other people and 2) because I push myself harder, mainly because I don’t want to look like a wuss in front of everyone. 🙂

    Really? Tracy Anderson says you shouldn’t life more than 3 pounds, and she’s Madonna’s trainer? I find it hard to believe that Madonna got the way she is by lifting 3 pounders. Although I have heard that there are some movements, that when performed correctly and when the muscles are contracted correctly, can be quite effective without any weights. I personally like to lift heavy however.

  2. Yes, Tracy Anderson says that women should “never, ever” lift more than 3 pounds or else they will get bulky. There have been many fitness forums who think she is ridiculous for making such a claim. I lift a lot heavier as well, for ex, in my Body Pump class. I love having defined muscle tone but I also want that sleek, lean look. I have only done her video once. I enjoyed it but I really prefer working out in a group setting. Like you, I also push myself harder in front of others 🙂

    Thank you for commenting on my post!

Leave a Reply

