The Gym

I feel extremely lucky.  I LOVE going to the gym.  On the days that I don’t go, I miss it.  Terribly.  One of the first things that I did when I moved out of my parent’s house in the Bronx and into my first apartment in Manhattan was join a gym.  My mom urged me to wait, but I couldn’t.  I’ve been a gym rat on and off ever since.

 

Last week I rejoined a gym that I had belonged to a couple of years ago.  As I walked into the class, I passed by many familiar faces.  I recognized most of the teachers, trainers and other gym goers.  It was really nice. I felt at home.

 

However, I did notice one thing.  Everyone looked the same! I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, but it made me wonder.  Can anyone really change their body at the gym?  I know I basically look the same, although lately I have been working out harder than ever, so I do have more muscle tone.  But I doubt anyone else would really notice.  I bet some people have lost a lot of weight or were able to train for a marathon or something along those lines.  I’m just nosey and would love to learn more about people’s motivations, successes and failures.

5 thoughts on “The Gym

  1. I work out in my basement because motivating myself to a gym would be impossible. I used to go to one and wondered, too, why they were there (obviously to get fit, but for what… health, weight, looks…). I was always curious but never really got to chatting to anyone. Anyone who has motiviation to drive to a gym is way ahead of the game, it’s good you love it :).

    I like finding other female fitness fanatics out here but because I like to lift. I seem to fit in more with the guy lifters though often their purpose is different from mine. I lost a ton of weight while lifting, but gained most of it back. If I went back to the gym I used to belong to, no one would notice a difference. I feel off the wagon for way too long!

    I notice your blog is new, so keep posting!

  2. Thanks forthelifeofme! I do love working out at the gym. I have tried doing videos at home, but I prefer classes, the energy, the music, etc..

    I also love working out with weights. Although, I have been thinking about switching up my routine a bit. Today I took a one hour advanced mat pilates class, followed by 20 min on the treadmill. I tend to gain muscle very quickly, which I am thankful for, but now I want to aim for that long, lean look. I’m 5’2′ so I’ll take any length I can get 🙂

  3. I used to do pilates regularly and I managed to fit into a size two again!!! And that was post baby by about 4 years. I had given up ever slimming my hips enough to fit back into that size, but pilates worked wonders. I’m aiming to fit an hour a week of yoga or pilates back into my schedule and start small because I’ve lost so much flexibility over the years, too.

    Love your blog!
    Michelle

  4. The gym is such a productive place I always feel like i’m getting so much done! Ive been reading a lot of articles which say its better to train at night but I believe theres no better way to start your day then with the gym!

Leave a Reply

