Amma Sri Karunamayi: Part 2

I had an incredible time visting with Amma Sri Karunamayi today. The Blessing was to begin at 10 am. The location was about one hour away and I wanted to get there early so I asked one of my neighbors to walk my daughters to school.

I got to the temple at 9 am. There were already quite a few cars parked. When I walked into the temple, I saw many women wearing beautiful saris. I have always wanted one since I think they are just so stunning but when on earth would I ever wear one? Also, weren’t we supposed to wear all white? Was I the only one wearing white?

There were others wearing all white but the majority of people were either wearing every day clothes or saris. At any rate, after I signed in (and left my shoes in the designated area: note to self, wear socks next time!), I was given an index card. On the card, we were supposed to write down whatever blessing we were seeking. I saw people writing and writing. I started with the usual suspects: my health and the healthy of my husband and children. I kept on thinking of more and more things to add.  I saw others doing the same.

I remembered that my meditation teacher had told me not to worry about writing down a thesis. Amma, or Divine Mother, knows exactly what we needed.

After waiting in the main waiting room until 10:15, those of us with an Index card marked with an A were invited into the main area. However, before that happened, we were told to be patient and if someone happened to be called before us, to basically keep calm. Ha! As we walked in, a speaker came on to explain that Amma would be coming in soon.

After a while Amma walked in. She sat on a stage of sorts that was surrounded by flowers and paintings of other gurus (I think). She does speak English but at times I had a hard time understanding what she said.

We did some chanting. They did have a screen with the words to the chants but it was still challenging for me to keep up. Nevertheless, it felt pretty amazing to be around so many people chanting. At one point (ok, a lot) I had tears in my eyes. I felt so freaking lucky to be there at that moment. I felt very blessed. I also felt a bit of de ja vu. I really felt I had been there before or at least in a similar situation.

Since I had gotten there early, I was in the front section. However, they had others go before us. I wasn’t complaining though. There were parents with disabled or mentally handicapped children.

Soon enough, it was my turn to go on line. I had seen people give thing to Amma to bless. All I had were the mala beads on my hand and an Energy Muse necklace, so I took them off and placed them on a platter that was given to Amma. When I got to Amma, I handed her my card, bowed my head and touched her orange sari. I felt my legs shaking. I told myself to calm down and enjoy the moment. I did feel like I was under a wave but I couldn’t tell if it was due to her presence or my nerves!

She looked at my index card and then closed her eyes. After a few seconds, she told me “This is going to be a great year. All your problems will be solved.” At some point she put her hand my head. That was it. I walked away.

They had set up a little store in the back of the temple. I purchased a carnelian mala with a Ganesh symbol and also a pretty necklace. After that, I walked out. As I walked out, I was handed a box. They gave me lunch! I was shocked. The Blessing was free. They didn’t even ask for donations. To top it off, the food was so delicious!

I’m not sure I experienced any miracles. However, I really enjoyed the experience. One weird thing though. When I got into my car, the thought “I can never eat meat again” popped into my head?!?!  Over the years, I have toyed with the idea of becoming a vegetarian but I never followed through. Was this due to my experience with Amma or something else? All I know is that I made chicken tacos for my family for dinner tonight. But I made myself a separate meal!

10 thoughts on “Amma Sri Karunamayi: Part 2

  1. Thank You Judie. Such a lovely experience. I feel like I was there with you. Enjoy your blessings they will unfold over time. Ah patience. Janet StraightArrow

  2. Thanks! I also forgot to mention that I was given a little envelope with ashes. We were told we could put some on our Third Eye and even ingest it with some water. I put some on myself and my girls. I took a tiny taste as well.

    Also, after my Blessing, I had milk that I believe was blessed by the Divine Mother.

    Oh, and she also gave me three Hersey Kisses! My daughters and I shared them. My poor husband was left out.

  3. Wow, thanks so much for sharing your experience. It sounds beautiful and the her blessings will keep on giving to you and your family.

  4. Pingback: It’s Been One Year « Judiesjuice’s Blog

  5. Pingback: Karunamayi Part III: Another Unexpected Gift | JudiesJuice

Leave a Reply

